HOW TO APPLY FOR A FIREARMS ID CARD
AND HANDGUN PURCHASE PERMITS
All applications for firearms licenses, permits, and changes begin online on the NJ’s Firearms Application and Registration System (FARS) website. Your application will begin with the State Police and then be handed over to the Deal Police Department to be completed.
EFFECTIVE MARCH 2023
Firearms fees have increased as per New Jersey Statute and are now:
- $25 per handgun permit
- $50 for Firearm Identification cards
Upon approval, you will be contacted to pay the permit and/or initial Firearm Identification card fees. Payment will be accepted in check OR money order payable to “Deal Police Department.”
***DO NOT CALL OR COME IN TO PAY UNLESS YOU HAVE BEEN CONTACTED BY THE DEAL POLICE FIREARMS DIVISION. PAYMENT WILL ONLY BE ACCEPTED UPON APPROVAL***
The online FARS website is for:
- Initial Firearms Purchaser Identification Card
- Application to purchase a handgun
- Change of Name on Identification Card
- Change of Address on Identification Card
- Change of Sex on Identification Card
- Lost or Stolen Identification Card
- Mutilated Identification Card
STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE FARS WEBSITE:
- Go to:https://www.njportal.com/NJSP/FARS
- On the bottom left of the F.A.R.S. page, you will see a button marked “Online Firearms Application,” This will bring you to the next page, where you will need our ORI # NJ0131000.
- You may now continue with your online application. Note: you will need to provide the email addresses of two (2) reputable references (friends, co-workers, family members, etc.) during the application process.
- IMPORTANT: Inform your references that the FARS system will email them a “questionnaire” that must be completed immediately in order to complete your application. Failure to do so will delay or may even “reject” your application.
- To avoid delaying the processing of your application, be sure to enter your name as it appears on your driver’s license.
- If you have never been fingerprinted before for firearms purposes, you will need to go for fingerprinting. A fingerprinting appointment can be scheduled at https://uenroll.identogo.com/workflows/2F164B after the successful submission of your application. However, if you have been fingerprinted before for firearm purposes, you will have completed both the Firearms Application and 212A requirements upon completing your application and payment.
- The applicant will be able to download and print the Electronic Firearms Purchaser Identification Card (E-FID) from their approval email.
- For “Permits to Purchase a Handgun,” the approval email will serve as a necessary document for handgun permit execution.
HOW TO APPLY FOR A PERMIT TO CARRY A HANDGUN
Applying for a permit to carry a handgun is now completed online. Click here to apply.
If you have lived within the State of New York at any time during the past ten years, you must fill out the New York Mental Health Consent form. Please complete all relevant sections of the form and email it to email@example.com. Include your social security number in the upper right box of page 1. The "from" and "to" portions should be left blank.
Please complete the New York Mental Health form here: New York Mental Health form
Civilian Carry Assessment and Range Evaluation (CCARE)
All certified firearms instructors in NJ shall now instruct on the CCARE protocol.
As for individuals who completed firearms training prior to July 1, 2023, and whose permit to carry does not expire until after December 22, 2023, they must requalify on the CCARE protocol or the HQC2-modified protocol issued on July 21, 2023. An individual who completed a course of fire prior to the issuance of the CCARE Protocol is deemed to have satisfied N.J.S.A. 2C:58-4(g)(2) if and only if the prior course included each of the following:
A minimum of 50 scored rounds per participant.
- Minimum passing score of 80% using an FBI-type Q target.
- At least 10 rounds must be from the 15, 10, 7, 5, and 3-yard lines each, or if fewer rounds were fired from those distances, the remaining rounds must have been fired from greater distances.
- The participant must demonstrate safe holstering and unholstering during the shooting course, which must include safely drawing the weapon from a secured holster before firing at each of the required distances and reholstering after completing the round.
- The participant must demonstrate proficient and safe reloading during the shooting course.
No substantially similar courses completed after the CCARE Protocol is issued will be accepted.
- CCARE Memorandum
- Civilian Carry Assessment and Range Evaluation (CCARE)
- Use of Force Interim Training For Private Citizen Concealed Carry.
EFFECTIVE MARCH 2023: Firearms fees have increased per the New Jersey Statute. Carry Permit is a $150 check OR money order payable to “Borough of Deal” AND a $50.00 money order payable to “New Jersey State Police.”